Lynk & Co 09 vs Jeep Commander
Jeep Commander
Our verdict
The Lynk & Co 09 is the better-equipped choice for most families. At AED 157,000 for the base Pro, it costs about AED 7,100 more than the Jeep Commander at AED 149,900, but you get standard AWD, a 14.6-inch screen, NAPPA leather, a panoramic roof, a 360° camera and 23 driver-assistance functions. It is also a big 5,042 mm SUV with 6 or 7 seats. Its weak points are modest fuel economy (12.6 km/L) and no blind spot detection on the Pro trim. The Halo, at AED 167,000, adds it. The Commander suits buyers who want a lower entry price, 272 HP, a Terrain Selector 4x4 system, 7 airbags and blind spot detection. However, its 10.1-inch screen and 6 speakers are more basic, and it has only one trim. Neither brand publishes warranty or boot space, so ask both dealers. Our pick is the Lynk & Co 09, ideally in Halo trim.
Key specs
| Spec | Lynk & Co 09 | Jeep Commander |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | AED 157,000 | AED 149,900 |
| Body type | SUV · Full-size SUV | SUV · Midsize 7-seat SUV |
| Dimensions | 5042 × 1977 × 1780 mm · wheelbase 2984 mm | Not disclosed |
| Seats | 6/7 | 7 |
| Powertrain | 2.0L T5 turbo, 48V mild hybrid | 2.0L turbo petrol |
| Drivetrain | AWD | 4WD |
| Cargo space | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Max power | 254 hp | 272 hp |
| Torque | 350 Nm | 400 Nm |
| 0–100 km/h | 8 s | 8.5 s |
| Top speed | 215 km/h | 190 km/h |
| Combined range | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| EV-only range | Not disclosed | n/a |
| Consumption | 12.6 km/L (about 7.9 L/100 km), manufacturer figure; test cycle not stated | Not disclosed |
| Charging | Not disclosed | n/a |
| Airbags | 6 | 7 |
| Driver assistance | Official page cites 23 driver-assistance functions and 12 ultrasonic sensors. All trims have adaptive cruise with queuing assist, Highway Assistant, AEB with pedestrian detection, forward collision warning, lane departure warning, lane keeping, emergency lane keeping, a 360° view system and front and rear parking sensors. Halo and Ultra add blind spot detection, lane change assist, rear cross traffic alert, rear collision mitigation, evasive manoeuvre assist, door open warning and autonomous parking. | Blind spot and cross path detection listed; no other driver-assistance features are given on the pages. |
| Safety index | 8/10 | Not disclosed |
| Warranty | Not published on the official UAE model page | Not disclosed |
| Screens | 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and 14.6-inch touchscreen. A 12.8-inch full-colour W-HUD is fitted on Halo and Ultra. | 10.1-inch touchscreen display |
| Speakers | 10 | 6 |
| Comfort highlights | NAPPA leather seats on all trims with a 6-way power driver's seat on Pro and 8-way on Halo and Ultra. Halo adds memory and ventilated front seats. Ultra adds front massage and heating, 4-zone climate control, a 4-way power steering wheel and a power-folding third row. Other features are a panoramic canopy with an openable sunroof, a full-cover sunshade, a cooling glovebox, an air-purifying system with PM2.5 monitor and an aluminium-heavy sport chassis. Speakers: 10 on Pro, 14-speaker BOSE system on Halo and Ultra. | 7 seats and powered front seats are listed. No other comfort details are given on the pages. |
| MotorClash rating | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Summary | No independent reviews were included in the supplied pages, so no review score is given. The official page emphasises the premium cabin, long equipment list and a chassis with 48% aluminium components. | Not disclosed |
Specs and prices change often; confirm with the dealer before buying.