Lynk & Co 09 vs BYD ATTO 8
BYD ATTO 8
Our verdict
Choose the Lynk & Co 09 if you want the lower entry price and a plush cabin. It starts at AED 157,000, about AED 9,900 less than the ATTO 8 Premium at AED 166,900. It has standard AWD, a 254 PS mild-hybrid engine and NAPPA leather on every trim. The catch is that the base Pro lacks blind spot detection and the head-up display, and its fuel economy is modest at about 7.9 L/100 km. Warranty and boot size aren't published. The BYD ATTO 8 suits families who want a plug-in hybrid. It has seven seats, a 98 km electric-only range, a 270 L boot and a 21-speaker system. The Premium is rated 275 hp, while the AED 192,900 Performance has 480 hp. Warranty is only listed for Saudi Arabia (6 years, with 8 years on the battery), and range figures vary, so confirm them with the dealer. Our pick is the ATTO 8 for most buyers, thanks to its plug-in flexibility. The 09 is the better choice if budget comes first.
Key specs
| Spec | Lynk & Co 09 | BYD ATTO 8 |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | AED 157,000 | AED 166,900 |
| Body type | SUV · Full-size SUV | SUV · 7-seat plug-in hybrid SUV |
| Dimensions | 5042 × 1977 × 1780 mm · wheelbase 2984 mm | 5040 × 1996 × 1760 mm · 2950 mm |
| Seats | 6/7 | 7 |
| Powertrain | 2.0L T5 turbo, 48V mild hybrid | PHEV, 35.6 kWh LFP battery, dual electric motors + 110 kW engine |
| Drivetrain | AWD | AWD |
| Cargo space | Not disclosed | 270 L |
| Max power | 254 hp | 481 hp |
| Torque | 350 Nm | 675 Nm |
| 0–100 km/h | 8 s | 4.9 s |
| Top speed | 215 km/h | 200 km/h |
| Combined range | Not disclosed | 668 km |
| EV-only range | Not disclosed | 98 km |
| Consumption | 12.6 km/L (about 7.9 L/100 km), manufacturer figure; test cycle not stated | 10 L/100 km (WLTP combined) |
| Charging | Not disclosed | DC charging up to 72 kW, AC charging 11 kW, CCS2 port, AC V2L discharging |
| Airbags | 6 | 9 |
| Driver assistance | Official page cites 23 driver-assistance functions and 12 ultrasonic sensors. All trims have adaptive cruise with queuing assist, Highway Assistant, AEB with pedestrian detection, forward collision warning, lane departure warning, lane keeping, emergency lane keeping, a 360° view system and front and rear parking sensors. Halo and Ultra add blind spot detection, lane change assist, rear cross traffic alert, rear collision mitigation, evasive manoeuvre assist, door open warning and autonomous parking. | BYD DiPilot with 5 millimetre-wave radars and a front ADAS camera: adaptive cruise control, integrated cruise control, traffic sign recognition, intelligent speed limit control, front and rear collision warning, front and rear cross-traffic alert and braking, automatic emergency braking, emergency lane keeping assist, blind spot detection, door open warning, lane departure assistance, driver fatigue and distraction monitoring, transparent panoramic image, 26-inch W-HUD, front and rear parking radar (4 + 4) |
| Safety index | 8/10 | Not disclosed |
| Warranty | Not published on the official UAE model page | Saudi Arabia: 6 years or 150,000 km vehicle warranty; 8 years or 200,000 km battery warranty |
| Screens | 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and 14.6-inch touchscreen. A 12.8-inch full-colour W-HUD is fitted on Halo and Ultra. | 15.6-inch central display plus 10.25-inch full LCD instrument cluster; 26-inch W-HUD (Performance) |
| Speakers | 10 | 21 |
| Comfort highlights | NAPPA leather seats on all trims with a 6-way power driver's seat on Pro and 8-way on Halo and Ultra. Halo adds memory and ventilated front seats. Ultra adds front massage and heating, 4-zone climate control, a 4-way power steering wheel and a power-folding third row. Other features are a panoramic canopy with an openable sunroof, a full-cover sunshade, a cooling glovebox, an air-purifying system with PM2.5 monitor and an aluminium-heavy sport chassis. Speakers: 10 on Pro, 14-speaker BOSE system on Halo and Ultra. | Seven-seat cabin, 21-speaker audio, ambient lighting and a wireless phone charger. Exterior touches include flush door handles and LED lights. |
| MotorClash rating | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Summary | No independent reviews were included in the supplied pages, so no review score is given. The official page emphasises the premium cabin, long equipment list and a chassis with 48% aluminium components. | Not disclosed |
Specs and prices change often; confirm with the dealer before buying.